Kroger Likes Coupons, I Like Kroger

February 17, 2009 figmom

One time I had 12 coupons for the same item. It was a good deal and I wanted to use all of them before they expired. So I took my coupons and went to Target, who had the item on sale at the time. I took a special trip to the store, filled up my basket with 12 boxes of the same product and walked to the counter with my 12 coupons. The cashier looked at me weird and I took her look to mean that something wasn’t right. So I told her I have a coupon for every single item in that basket. “Well, I don’t think you can do that!” she said. Why not? The coupon states I can use one coupon for each item. She called the manager and the manager said the same thing: I could only use one coupon, if I wanted to. I said OK, I will stay in line 12 times, purchase one item at a time, make you pay for each credit card transaction and use all my coupons anyway. They both said no, I could not do that either! I was not outraged, but I was a little pissed. I purchased one item, left the store, and went to Kroger.

Nothing of thins kind has ever happened to me at Kroger! Their cashiers have gone out of their way to make it easy for me to use a coupon. One time I needed to spend about $3.00 more, to be able to use a $10 off the entire purchase coupon. I told the cashier that, and told him I wanted to purchase a Kroger brand yellow cake that I had seen on the shelf. He walked in the bakery department and brought me the item I had asked for, without even blinking. I couldn’t believe it!

At Kroger, they accept printed coupons, free coupons (coupon that will give you an item for free), several identical coupons in the same transaction, coupons for items on clearance, eCoupons, and they even double coupons. They have coupons on the back of your receipt and they print customized coupons for you on the spot! Periodically, they offer coupons on the shelf by the exact item. They even send you Kroger coupons in the mail! Shopping at Kroger is heaven for the coupon addict that I am.

There is one thing in terms of coupons that I would like to see Kroger doing. Put a box at the end of each isle (or by each type of product on the shelf, or at the cash registers where people can see them when they wait in line, or even only at the entrance in the store) where people can donate their extra coupons. A “give a coupon, take a coupon” kind of thing. This would bring in the store people who don’t have time for clipping, or just don’t usually use coupons.  I wouldn’t swear, but such a coupon swap opportunity would make me not even open the Target flier again.

Entry Filed under: Kroger Likes Coupons, I Like Kroger

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Most Recent Posts