Archive for February 6th, 2009




Baby Food – Which Is Which and Which Is Best

Anybody who went to a baby shower had to taste some baby food. Ask James, he knows all the tastes of all the brands of baby food out there. He says that “brand name” baby foods (i.e. Gerber) are better than “non brand name”. Apparently, our baby doesn’t care what label is on the jar she is eating from. When it’s lunch time, there must be some food in her pink bowl, or else! So it’s up to mommy to find the best deals with the available resources.

Generally, “Gerber” baby foods are priced just a few cents per ounce more than “Beech Nut” foods. However, I have found more coupons for “Gerber” baby food than for “Beech Nut” baby food. Organics and baby food with DHA are more expensive than 1st step food, which is more expensive than 2nd step food.

Today however, I paid less per ounce of  “Gerber” organic and DHA enhanced baby food than for the “Beech Nut” regular baby food. The “Gerber” organic and baby food with DHA were on sale from $1.30 down to $1.05.  I had a coupon for $1.00 off 4 plastic containers with any type of food. This brought  my price down to $0.80 per container. If they only made organic food enhanced with DHA!

Buying fresh fruits and vegetables and making homemade baby food is still cheaper than the jars of food.  Just be careful of the no-no vegetables that might contain nitrates in your area (http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/nitratearticle.htm).

Add a comment February 6, 2009

Multigrain Cheerios – For FREE!

I took my baby to Kroger today. Our favorite hangout place. She gets lots of attention from other shoppers (“look at that cute baby”) and generously shares smiles left and right. I quicky walk down the aisles, scanning the yellow tags and mentally matching them with the coupons in my box. OK, here it is. I came for a specific item today: Multigrain Cheerios. I had some $0.50 off coupons for it and the picture on the coupon looked so good. I wanted to try this “healthy food”. It was on sale for $1.64 for a small box. At the register, the $0.75 eCoupon for Multigrain Cheerios applied, then, my $0.50 coupon doubled.

Oh, wait! I actually got paid to buy that box of “healthy cereals”. I made up for it by buying a second box (I just couldn’t resist paying $0.55 for a box)… and lots of other stuff. I was out of there before baby start acting up.

Add a comment February 6, 2009

Pages

Categories

Links

Meta

Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category